Draftkings Tournaments Review – For Beginners

Hey there thank you for visiting my site. In this post, I will be reviewing tournaments on Draftkings. This is for the beginners. Draftkings is a bit more sophisticated than Fanduel. But I will make this post as simple as I can. I will add pictures and step by step processes you should follow. Let’s get to it.

Draftkings Tournaments What Is It?

Tournaments are a type of game mode you can enter on DK or FD. It’s the game mode where you have large entry amounts. Meaning there is often going to be over a 1,000+ people in the games competing. The more people the higher the payout. The higher the payout the more difficult it is to win. This is also where those DFS Sharks love to hang out as well. You will see them and become very familiar with them quick. All in all, though. It is the most loved game mode on both sites.

How To Get To Tournaments On Draftkings

In order to get to the tournaments game mode. You will need to know how to get there. But before I go any further. What I need you to do is sign into your Draftkings account. If you don’t have one. You can sign up for free. By clicking the link below.

(\\\Click Here To Sign Up For Draftkings Free Account///)

After you have logged into your Draftkings account. You will generally be welcomed by the home page of the site. Which looks like this.

How to get to tournaments on DK

How to get to tournaments on DK

Once you get there it will already be set on a tab called featured. As you can see it mixes all the sports and game modes up. If that’s how you like it then fine. But if you want to see a contest for a specific sport in a specific game mode. You will need to click your sport of choice. Then you will have this screen appear. I’m going to use NFL as an example.

Tournaments mode on dK

Tournaments mode on dK

You all see this box come up. Select tournaments/leagues

How Much Can You Win?

There are various payouts on DK. Sorting from low to high or however, you desire it to be. You know that by now. So I’ll focus on the one that makes thousands of people join DK each year. The Big one right now is this baby here. For $3 you can make $1,000,000.00 dollars. That’s one hell of a profit right there.

Millionaire prize on DK

Millionaire prize on DK

Yes, that is a 1,000,000.00 dollar cash prize to the winner. They pay structure looks like this.

prize payouts on DK

prize payouts on DK

So this is how it works. The guy who comes in first gets 1,000,000 bucks cash. Then it trickles on down lower and lower till it gets around 542850th. It pays cash prizes from 1st to 543850th place. You’re probably thinking gee how can I lose with such big of a prize payout. Easy very easy and quite simple. you see those orange M’s beside certain players names? Those are multi-entry icons. Meaning they have multiple lineups entered into this contest. You may say yeah well that’s not bad. But let’s just say that 3 or 4 of those guys and this happens often. Pick solid lineups and cash high and low. They can enter up to 150 times. So that’s like 600 slots right there. See how quick you can drop far out of the money to never be heard from again.

I just used 4 as an example. In reality, it could be hundreds of these guys. In one game doing this. If the have solid lineups. It’s extremely hard to cash big. Not to mention this.

DraftKings - NFL $5M Fantasy Football Millionaire [$1M to 1st] 2016-08-15 20-36-47

DraftKings – NFL $5M Fantasy Football Millionaire [$1M to 1st] 2016-08-15 20-36-47

If you don’t know what that is. I will tell you. It’s the amount of people who can enter the game. So not only do you have the hassle of worrying about DFS sharks. But you have thousands literally  thousands of other opponents to outsmart as well. A lot of times in huge games like this. There is no one single winner. It will often be a couple of guys who have the exact same line-up. That place in first. But the both can’t receive the million. So the money is split. Same goes for other positions that tie.

The best way I avoid it. I mean you can’t totally stop it from happening. But you can lower the chances by setting it to single entry only. This way you will only have to worry about your opponents one line-up. Instead of thousands of guys with 150 entries. You will run into someone who has the same line-up as you. Especially when they have 150 opportunities to do such. Some guys luck are better than others. If you get in here and win off one $3 entry. Hats off to you.

Conclusion

This is basically all you need to know for sure about tournaments on Draftkings. The payouts, in my opinion, are better than Fanduel’s. but a lot harder. Like so hard that it’s really not even worth playing. If you aren’t seasoned and very knowledgeable. Take it from a guy who’s been playing for a decade plus. It’s not for the faint of heart. But don’t let my message discourage you. Cause as everyone who plays DFS knows. This is a game of 5% skill and 95% luck. Anything could be a factor causing you to win millions or lose millions. I’ve had it all happen to me.

  • Bad calls
  • Late Hits
  • Ejections
  • Injures
  • Fights
  • Etc.

But no matter what win or lose. Make every experience one you learned something from. That’s how you get better and become a veteran.

That’s all I have for this post. If you have any questions or notice anything I left out on this particular topic. Let me know. Drop your message off in the comments area below and I will get back to you within 24 hours. All there is left for you to do now is make an account for Draftkings and Fanduel. You don’t have to have them both. But it is nice to be able to work on both sites. Below are two linked images. What you will need to do is click which one you wish to join. Once you click it. You will be sent to the site’s sign-up homepage. Where you will fill out the information required and create you a free account. Good luck and hope to see you on a commercial for DK soon.

Draftkings sign up screen

Draftkings sign up screen. Click image to create your free account.

fanduel sign up screen

fanduel sign up screen. Click to join

 

Share With A Friend!

10 comments for “Draftkings Tournaments Review – For Beginners

  1. Gindy
    August 16, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    I like your review, it gave more insight into fantasy football leagues, that’s what it’s called right? I have seen the commericails on TV about winning a million with the winning team, pick. You did say at the end of the review that DraftKings is harder to win on than Fanduel, how come?

    • Ted
      August 16, 2016 at 11:39 pm

      Because the player pool sizes are larger and it just has in my opinion. Less opportunity than FD. When it comes to winning big in tournaments.

  2. Frank
    August 16, 2016 at 10:18 pm

    Very informational post give great step by step instructions on what you need to do in order to started with fantasy sports. With the NFL session starting soon your post could be very helpful to anyone looking get started with fantasy sports. I heard FD and DK where coming together. Have you heard anything about that? .

    • Ted
      August 16, 2016 at 11:36 pm

      Yes I have and if they do it would be an awesome platform I’m sure.

  3. Ryan Miller
    August 16, 2016 at 10:38 pm

    Great article! I’ve played around on draft kings a bit. I think your article actually taught me a few things I didn’t know. It’s a lot of fun to sit down, read the stats, and figure out who your winning team is going to be. Nothing beats watching the games and cheering on the players you have on your DK’s team every week!

    • Ted
      August 16, 2016 at 11:34 pm

      Glad i could help you. Yes it is a addicting experience.

  4. Coll
    August 17, 2016 at 12:30 am

    I have wanted to learn about fantasy sports teams for a wile now.

    I am glad that I came across your site. Its something I heard a lot about growing up but never really knew what it was all about.

    Thanks for all the information, you really explained it well enough for me to understand properly.

    Coll

    • Ted
      August 17, 2016 at 3:30 am

      Thank you and I’m glad I could help.

  5. joshua
    August 17, 2016 at 2:17 am

    Hey man first off i really enjoyed your site i thought the information that you provided was very interesting and very thorough and if i was a first time fantasy football guy your site would lead me right through how to go about doing it the right way and that is important the only thing i would say is that maybe you can provide some links in keywords to lead your visitors to some more information sites

    • Ted
      August 17, 2016 at 3:30 am

      Thank you and I will Joshua. Just wait on it. I’m trying to get the basics out of the way first.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *